CHTM Group Receives National Science Foundation ICORPs Cohort Award

December 7, 2020 - CHTM

juan icorps

Dr. Juan J Faria Briceno

Congratulations are in order! A CHTM group has won the Cohort Award in the NSF ICORPs Fall program. The team consisted of CHTM Post Doctoral Fellow and entrpreneurial lead, Dr. Juan J. Faria Briceno, Mr. Scot Moye, CTO Palladian Industry mentor, and Distinguished Professor, Emeritus Dr. Steven Brueck as the technical lead.

Brueck who is a Principal Investigator (PI) and co-leader of Thrust 2: metrology and yield enhancement on an currently funded Nanomanufacturing Systems Center (NASCENT) NSF ERC award led by the University of Texas at Austin and includes the University of California, Berkeley, and the University of Houston. Their technology submitted in the ICORPs program was high-speed, in-line scatterometry for the metrology of roll-to-roll and roll-to-sheet nanofmanufacturing that has been developing as part of their work on NASCENT.

brueck icorps

Dr. Steven Brueck

The National Science Foundation (NSF) seeks to develop and nurture a national innovation ecosystem that builds upon fundamental research to guide the output to facilitate the application of scientific discoveries closer to the development of technologies, products and processed that benefit society. In order to strengthen and grow that ecosystem, NSF established the Innovation Corps- National Innovation Network Teams Program (I-Corps Teams). The ICORPs teams purpose is to identify NSF- funded researchers who will receive additional support in the form of entrepreneuriral education, mentoring and funding to accelerate innovation that can attract subsequent third-party funding. 

scot icorps

Mr. Scot Moye

Out of 16 teams, Dr. Faria Briceno, Scot Moye, and Dr. Brueck's team received the ICORPs highest award, the Cohort Award as the best team in the cohort. 

Kudos for the award primarily go to Dr. Faria Briceno for his efforts in testing and iterating on learnings every week. His research focuses on designing new alternative metrology systems for R2R (roll-to-roll) manufacturing processes. He is currently a Post Doctoral Fellow working at CHTM in Dr. Brueck's research group.